Twenty countries are already included on Panama’s discriminatory list

Augusto Arosemena, Minister of Commerce and Industry
  • Augusto Arosemena, Minister of Commerce and Industry
  • EFE

The Republic of Panama, through the Ministries of Economy and Finance, Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, made public a communiqué in which a list of countries that “apply discriminatory or restrictive measures” to the Central American country is mentioned; and that “affects their economic and commercial interests”.

The countries included are: Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Croatia, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Greece, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Cameroon, Georgia, Russia and Serbia.

According to the statement of only five paragraphs, “the list is the first step in the evaluation of reciprocal actions towards countries that discriminate Panama, as established by Law 48 of October 26, 2016, which states the process to apply retaliation measures”.

Augusto Arosemena, Minister of Commerce and Industry, in an interview with the EFE agency, cataloged the decision taken by Panama as a “novel” step “in” the country’s “foreign policy” because the Government has “the obligation to defend the interests of Panama at an international level”.

The reciprocity policies, regulations that legally support the decision made by the Panamanian government, were created in 2016 and in this case took place through ministerial resolution No. 001-2018 was signed by Dulcidio De La Guardia, Isabel de Saint Malo de Alvarado and Augusto Arosemena.

Although the causes that led to the completion of the list are not explained in detail, the statement says in its last paragraph that with these initiatives “the corresponding diplomatic efforts should be taken and propose and approve said actions to be taken against States that affect the economic and commercial interests of the nation”.

Recommended for You